Our group of certified instructors and staff offer CHL classes monthly, and custom classes to fit your busy schedule are also available. Please check our calendar for a complete listing of available class dates and times.
Location: Our private classroom and range are located in the rolling hills just outside of Canton, Texas.
Our new CHL license class is from 4 to 6 hours maximum in duration, as mandated by the State of Texas. (Beginning Sept. 1, 2013)
CHL Class Fee: Please Call For Pricing
Included in CHL Class Fee:
- Notary services
- Shooting range fees & proficiency fee
- Written examination & CR100
What To Bring
- Drivers License or Military ID or State of Texas ID
- 100 rounds factory ammunition (no reloads allowed)
- Handgun of at least .32 caliber (unloaded) & 1 unloaded magazine
- A good attitude with the willingness to learn
What to Wear:
- Eye & ear protection (eye glasses are acceptable)
- Closed toe shoes (no sandals or flip-flops)
- Collared shirts & hat or cap
- Sun screen during the summer
• You must be 21 (18 for active duty military) years of age when TDPS receives your application.
• If you are a citizen of another country you must have a US resident visa.
• If you have a felony conviction with deferred adjudication you must wait 10 years - unless the charge is for an offense against people, including homicide, kidnapping, restraint, human trafficking, sex offenses, assault or robbery. (in which case, don’t waste you time)
• You may not have been convicted of a Class A or B misdemeanor within the past 5 years.
• You may not have been convicted of the Class C misdemeanor for disorderly conduct in the past 5 years.
• You may not have been found by a court to be currently in default on any student loan.
• You may not have been found by a court to be currently in default on any state or city taxes.
• You may not have been found by a court to be currently in default on child support.
• You may not presently be charged with a 1) Felony; 2) Class A or B misdemeanor; 3) Class C Disorderly Conduct.
• You may not be currently under a court protective order or subject to a restraining order affecting the spousal relationship, other than a restraining order solely affecting property interest.
• You may not (in the last 10 years preceding the date of application) have been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law of the grade of felony as a juvenile.
• You cannot have made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in an application submitted to DPS.
• You cannot have been convicted twice within the last 10 years for any Class B misdemeanor, or greater, involving the use of alcohol or a controlled substance.
• You cannot be a fugitive from justice; a chemically dependent person; or a person of unsound mind.
The initial license is $140, seniors (60+) is $70, Military (Active Duty, Guard, Reserve) the fee is $0, Honorably Discharged Vets & Retirees the fee is $70. It is issued for a minimum of 4 years. When issued, the license will expire on your birthday 4 years later.
The renewal license fee is $70, seniors (60+) is $35, Military (Active Duty, Guard, Reserve) the fee is $0, Honorably Discharged Vets & Retirees the fee is $35. You will be issued a 5 year license, which will expire on your birthday.
Renewals - All renewals will be done online thru the DPS website. The 4 hour renewal class is no longer required. (Beginning Sept. 1, 2013)
TYPICAL CLASS OUTLINE
- In processing, orientation & registration
- Introduction & licensee requirements
- Fundamentals of marksmanship & techniques for carry concealed
- The use of deadly force
- Texas Concealed Handgun Laws
- Chapter 9 of the Texas Penal Code
- Dispute resolution
- Final Exam - Assistance with forms
- Range qualification, awarding of certificate & closing comments
Before taking the final exam, we will go over covered materials and answer any questions that students may have. Students must achieve a proficiency level of 70% on the written exam in order to pass the course.
The course of fire for the range is designed so that a person with little training will be able to qualify. However, it does assume that the applicant is familiar enough with a firearm to know how to operate it, load, clear a malfunction, and that they can hit a static target.